-- 3 September 2003 --

2003 Index


DATE: 3 September 2003
Queens Hall
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
SHOW COMMENTS: Acoustic show with Julie Wolf on keyboards


  • Lovers In A Dangerous Time
  • Wondering Where The Lions Are
  • Tried And Tested
  • Pacing The Cage
  • Open
  • Night Train
  • Don't Feel Your Touch
  • Trickle Down

  • Down To The Delta
  • Wait No More
  • All Our Dark Tomorrows
  • Let The Bad Air Out
  • You've Never Seen Everything
  • If I Had A Rocket Launcher
  • Last Night Of The World
  • World Of Wonders

  • Everywhere Dance
  • Mighty Trucks Of Midnight
  • Messenger Wind


    Setlist and photo from Doug and Sheila Small (corrected by Iain). Davie Nettleship reports:

    The Queens hall is a restored old church type venue. It wasn't full, but maybe the word has not spread. Local advertising of the gig was very poor, but Bruce responded with an array of pearls strewn to the intimate audiance.
    Dunno what this going off for encores is all about, he should have stayed on and taken the applause and heckles for more and 'specific' songs like a musician should.

    He seemed happy and relaxed as were the crowd, even to the point where at the break someone added a few suggestions to his set list on the floor. Bruce acknowledged this jape with a smile, and carried on regardless. We Scots are known as a canny race, and Bruce took the encore request of start again from the beginning in the same gracious way as the request for Mr Tambourine Man when he picked up the 12-string.

    Iain also adds: Bruce talked about Wondering Where The Lions Are as being quite an old song, but Tried And Tested was kind of the same. At Robin, he talked about remembering how Lord Of The Starfields came about: spending time in a friend's log cabin north of Toronto, and being struck by all the stars, thinking he should write a song about it and having to work very hard to make it happen. Open came to him very easily, almost as if he woke up and it was there, he just had to scribble it down quickly: "It made me feel like a real artist!" With genuine inspiration!



    Help out! To add material to this page, see this page first.

    2003 Index

    This page is part of The Cockburn Project, a unique website that exists to document the work of Canadian singer-songwriter and musician Bruce Cockburn. The Project archives self-commentary by Cockburn on his songs and music, and supplements this core part of the website with news, tour dates, and other current information.