-- 19 July 2003 --

2003 Index


DATE: 19 July 2003
Barrymore Theatre
Madison, WI, USA
SHOW COMMENTS: The band was Julie Wolf (keyboards, vocals), Steve Lucas (bass), and Ben Riley (drums).


  • Let The Bad Air Out
  • All Our Dark Tomorrows
  • Lovers In A Dangerous Time
  • Mighty Trucks Of Midnight
  • Tried And Tested
  • Wondering Where The Lions Are
  • Postcards From Cambodia
  • Burn
  • Wait No More

  • Trickle Down
  • Bone In My Ear
  • Open
  • Night Train
  • You've Never Seen Everything
  • If I Had A Rocket Launcher
  • To Raise The Morning Star
  • Last Night Of The World

  • Call It Democracy
  • Put It In Your Heart
  • Messenger Wind


    Submitted by Doug Stacey, Dan Melton, Aaron Anding, and "Anonymous Cockburn Junkie" who comments:

    When introducing All Our Dark Tomorrows, Bruce said that a number of interviewers were having trouble with the title of the new CD. "They say something like, 'And Here's Bruce Cockburn with his new CD You've Never Seen Anything,' obviously missing the subtlety of the last word."

    Julie Wolf did a great job improvising in a difficult set. Her strong back-up vocals especially make me wish for future collaborations... perhaps on the next Cockburn CD!

    John Hardy adds:

    Shortly after 8pm, the crowd began chants of "Bruuuuce, Bruuuuce." When he came out on stage he received a standing ovation. He received several more as the show went on.

    He didn't say much during the show. After All Our Dark Tomorrows someone yelled "Rumsfield Sucks!" and Bruce said, "...among other things." He introduced Burn by saying something about how he was digging deep into precambrian strata where there were fossils of aliens and such.

    Bruce gave the keyboard player a prominent role. He stepped back for her extended solos on Mighty Trucks Of Midnight and To Raise The Morning Star, on which Bruce also did some psychedelic jamming.

    Another great show — well structured, well played, and well received.

    For more about this show and photos, see the reviews From The Road: Part II.



    Help out! To add material to this page, see this page first.

    2003 Index

    This page is part of The Cockburn Project, a unique website that exists to document the work of Canadian singer-songwriter and musician Bruce Cockburn. The Project archives self-commentary by Cockburn on his songs and music, and supplements this core part of the website with news, tour dates, and other current information.